Tuesday, June 29, 2010

The Democrats' Five Stages of Grief

By Alex Stevenson at americanthinker.com

image Elisabeth Kubler-Ross published a groundbreaking analysis of the changes that happen to people upon been informed of a terminal illness. In her 1969 book, On Death and Dying, Kubler-Ross describes five stages of grief, a process by which people deal with tragedy, especially when diagnosed with a terminal illness. Her work created awareness to the sensitivity required for better treatment of individuals who are dealing with a fatal disease.  The five stages are:

Denial is a temporary defense for the individual.

Anger -- when denial fails, resistance and rage against the truth replace it.

Bargaining involves the hope that the inevitable can be delayed.

Depression is the beginning of understanding the inevitable.

Acceptance is honestly dealing with the reality of the situation.

The Democrats are going through this process….

Depression will bring the retirement of the previous powerful committee chairmen and other figures unable to deal with their loss, thus setting the stage for a new generation of Democrats, who will adjust to the new power structure. Acceptance will be required to advance any legislation favored by the Democrats, so in the long run, the new generation will come to terms.

Read the whole post here…